Revision3.com Shows Schedule Inside Revision3 Store


Go Back   Revision3 Forums > Shows > Tekzilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #1  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:32 AM
monkeyrhahn
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 113
Status: Offline
Default Video editing computer HELP

Ok so im looking for a new computer for $500.00 or less

It needs to be VERY fast

I will be useing it for video editing and photo shop in college

so lots of ram (hard drive does not matter b/c i have a ton at home)

and i DONT want to build my own and no monitor needed

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:31 AM
davmoo
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,722
Status: Offline
Default

"Very fast" and "$500 or less" are rather tough when you also toss in "I don't want to build my own".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:39 AM
monkeyrhahn
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 113
Status: Offline
Default

this is what i did on dell

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...op-studio-mini

Now i would like the RAM and Prosesor thats in there

but maybe cheeper
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:42 AM
mikec
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,149
Status: Offline
Default

Unless you are planning on using Windows Movie Maker, most sub $500 computers will not meet the specs of things like Premiere or any of the Avid software.

Sony Vegas isn't that demanding, but still to do anything in a reasonable amount of time, the machine has to be top grade.

I agree with the previous post as well. Not sure how much $$ can be saved by building a machine nowadays.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:45 AM
monkeyrhahn
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 113
Status: Offline
Default

Can you give me some options on what i should get (im never useing a mac for editing so stop there haha)

I dont want to build my own at all no time for it

links for the pcs are good to
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2009, 10:03 AM
duzawe's Avatar
duzawe
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 46
Status: Offline
Default

Movie maker live is now almost the same as Imovie its still not a high end editer but for the basics its ok, I run a review show and edit it in movie maker (the new one). But yes I agree you need to get a real editer, You are gonig to neee to spend at least 200+ dollers on the software.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2009, 10:55 AM
davmoo
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,722
Status: Offline
Default

First, you don't have to worry about us suggesting that you get a Mac. For $500 you ain't gonna get one new.

You could get something like this machine from Best Buy. It just barely meets the minimum requirements for Adobe Premier, but I'm not sure it will do HD video. And it damned sure won't be fast.

This is one of those areas where you can have it fast or you can have it cheap, pick one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2009, 12:53 PM
nav13eh's Avatar
nav13eh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 631
Status: Offline
Default

I use Corel Video Studio Pro X2 (or 12) on a Pentium laptop with 2GB of RAM. Works just fine, even with HD.
__________________
Sony VAIO VGN-NR120E
Pentium Dual Core T2310 @ 1.46GHz
2GB RAM
Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:30 PM
mikec
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,149
Status: Offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyrhahn View Post
Can you give me some options on what i should get (im never useing a mac for editing so stop there haha)
I have used DOS and Windows for a long time but I am seriously thinking of going to an Apple machine for Final Cut. There are changes coming to my line of work, TV production, and Final Cut seems to be a serious contender there. The cost of getting an Avid room at home would be too much.

To the OP, you need to find out what software you will be using and it's requirements. You then buy a computer based on that. Buying a computer without knowing if it will run the software is foolish.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2009, 01:30 AM
monkeyrhahn
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 113
Status: Offline
Default

Now what kind of processor should i get?(how many Hz or MB cache) because im makkeing one on dell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Rev3 Forum RSS


© 2005-2010 Revision3 Corporation