Revision3.com Shows Schedule Inside Revision3 Store


Go Back   Revision3 Forums > Computing > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #1  
Old 11-14-2006, 02:58 AM
sevver's Avatar
sevver
ExMod 2006-08
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I do not live on earth
Posts: 373
Status: Offline
Default dyndns.org

I could use some help with this. I want to be able to access my computer from another computer wherever I may happen to be. What will I need to do? I have an account set up with dyndns.org and opened up my router, everything looks good, do I need to set up a webserver or start any services in order to gain access to my computer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2006, 08:19 PM
noonebutme
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 267
Status: Offline
Send a message via MSN to noonebutme
Default

All dyndns does is creates a static DNS that redirects to your dynamic IP. You'll need a service like Remote Desktop to access your computer, but that's assuming your running XP Pro or XP MCE. Otherwise, you could do what i usually do - and run a VNC server instead. All you'd have to do is forward ports 5800 and 5900(Java access port if you use the java server with RealVNC, and the default port for connections with a VNC client)

If you really wanted to, you could install a sshd + cygwin to have command line, but that's going overboard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 PM.

Rev3 Forum RSS


© 2005-2010 Revision3 Corporation