Revision3.com Shows Schedule Inside Revision3 Store


Go Back   Revision3 Forums > Archived Shows > Systm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #1  
Old 04-21-2008, 10:01 PM
tylerhowarth's Avatar
tylerhowarth
Revision3 Intern!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 140
Status: Offline
Send a message via AIM to tylerhowarth
Default Episode 47 - Overclock your PC [Discussion]

Back in the day, only the foolhardy overclocked a PC. Today? It's practically expected for home builders. We walk you thru the basics of getting free performance from your processor.

Watch and Download the Episode here!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2008, 10:42 PM
dosbomber's Avatar
dosbomber
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Status: Offline
Default

"We're going to bring that [CPU Multiplier] up to 11, because it's one louder"...

hahaha nice Spinal Tap reference..

Sad to hear about Dave leaving, aside from being stuck in the studio running tens of thousands of miles of wires, he seemed to have a lot of great ideas for projects for the show.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2008, 11:10 PM
will_stutler's Avatar
will_stutler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Ga
Posts: 317
Status: Offline
Send a message via MSN to will_stutler Send a message via Yahoo to will_stutler Send a message via Skype™ to will_stutler
Default

thats cool
i always thought over clocking was harder than that

i wounder if you could do it on a laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2008, 11:18 PM
m3wse
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Status: Offline
Default

one word: cooling...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2008, 11:42 PM
shinigami052
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 231
Status: Offline
Default

There's a pretty cool and good group of overclockers over at:

http://www.teampalit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=81
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2008, 12:41 AM
computoman
 
Posts: n/a
Default there's the other way to.

Some people will underclock a machine so it will run cooler and use less juice. Some cpu's have a special section in them to record if the cpu has been overclocked. That way if there is a warranty issue the overclocker will have have to come clean. Good show by the way.

We want to see a pic of the little one!

Last edited by computoman : 04-22-2008 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2008, 07:31 AM
atris316
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 6
Status: Offline
Thumbs down Dave

Say it ant so.. Dave gone, this saddens me. Let me be the first to say good show. Systm wouldn't be the show it is today without you (or Rev3 for that matter). So good luck, i wish you well at your new venture. Hope you come back and guest on a few shows.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2008, 01:50 PM
smeerkaas
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 147
Status: Offline
Default

Overclocking is fun. I've been doing it for 15 years or so. Getting nostalgic is great 'n all, but i'm sure glad I don't have to solder crystals anymore to get more oomph. These days it is really too easy. Just dial in a value and see if it sticks.

My current machine runs almost 40% over stock, with air cooling and no noise. Default voltages even for the CPU and motherboard. All I had to do was set my memory to 2.1 volt (default 1.8). And even that is the rated voltage for those sticks.

C2D E6600 2,4GHz @ 3,3GHz. Free speed. It's wonderful.
And because the voltages are kept stock, I'm not too worried about electromigration.

I'm sure I could get more out of it, but my main concern is quiet and cool operation. DDR2 Memory at 730MHz 3-3-3-9-12. A year and a half old machine, and it's kicking *ss even when compared to brand new stock machines. In both pure speed, and bandwith.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2008, 02:44 PM
bani-banan's Avatar
bani-banan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ulricehamn, Sweden
Posts: 729
Status: Offline
Send a message via MSN to bani-banan
Default

Overclocking is fawking awesome!
Most fun I've had is overclocking my computah.

Back in the day, I used to overclock my integrated graphics card... = epic failure!

Saddens me that randolph is leaving =/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2008, 11:15 PM
tilman
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Status: Offline
Default

Overclocking is useless. It is fun if you have time for it.
And it _can_ be very rewarding. But just finding this out and at some point of course, finding out you did it too much wastes so much time you could better invest in fun software stuff.

Did i tell you that i find PC hardware boring and dumb? *g*

I will buy the first pc without hardware if there ever is one.

When i was a kid, i liked all this stupid bigger fan more volts and Hz stuff. But i liked some other strange things as a kid...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Rev3 Forum RSS


© 2005-2010 Revision3 Corporation