Revision3.com Shows Schedule Inside Revision3 Store

Go Back   Revision3 Forums > Archived Shows > iFanboy

Old 06-10-2008, 09:26 AM
evin

Send a message via MSN to evin
Default Ultimate Marvel reading order?

So I'm just getting into the Ultimate Marvel universe. A few years ago I read a whack of Ultimate X-Men, but I can't really remember anything that happened (other than I think Storm and Beast dated or something? Whatever). I've started my reading with The Ultimates, thinking that "Hey, these are the big guns, and this is where they're introduced. This will make a good starting point" and within the first few issues they've already mentioned Spider-man, the X-Men, and the Fantastic Four, so I'm obviously not starting in the right place.

Now, after a cursory Googling (paired with my prior knowledge that it was the first book from the imprint to come out), Ultimate Spider-man seems to be the place to start. And again from poking around, I know that Ultimate Hulk's first appearance was in Ultimate Team-Up #2, which takes place some time after Ultimate Spider-man #21, so I should really have gotten to at least there before starting Ultimates. My question here is, is there any resource out there that can guide me in the best way to read these books? Is it really even that important? Like, other than the occasional reference to the other books, do they really crossover to a large enough degree as to make the entire continuity an issue?

I'm sure I could always try and find a chronological list of when each individual issue came out and read them in that order, but that seems a little excessive to me. I mean, largely the stories in the books would be self-contained (I figure) and you'd only really need a general knowledge of what was going on in the world to understand the side-references, so reading them all piecemeal like that would probably hurt more than it would help.