Revision3.com Shows Schedule Inside Revision3 Store


Go Back   Revision3 Forums > Archived Shows > Systm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #1  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:58 PM
ezxen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Status: Offline
Default how to make VGA to S video cable

I am trying to make a VGA to S video cable and I dont know were to start,or if there is even a way to do it (without spending alot of money).I have a spare S video cable as well as spare seral cable that are not in use so if any one knows were to point me to get started or knows how to do it your help would be greatly aprecheated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2006, 04:17 AM
splat's Avatar
splat
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 180
Status: Offline
Default

I am confused as to what you want this cable to do.

Are you attempting to turn VGA out to S-Video in?

Or, are you trying to turn S-Video out to VGA in?

Either way I am not sure if it possible, but other people might be able to help if they know exactly what you are looking for.

(Actually, maybe you should try and describe what you are trying to do in general, (ie what components are you trying to connect etc.) and I might be able to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2006, 02:21 PM
ezxen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Status: Offline
Default

What Im trying to do is make one wnd of the cable VGA and the other S Video
Input will be VGA and out put will be S video.I Thing I have the nesisary stuff extra VGA cable extra S video cable and a few feet of cat 5. The only thing I have a problem with is that I dont know hoe to wire evry thing to geather .I dont know what wirs should go were.Thanks in advance to any one who could help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 12:53 AM
rpnet
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Status: Offline
Default Just get the cable on ebay

hey, I just got a VGA to S-video cable on Ebay for$1.49... don't waste your time trying to put it together yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2007, 11:54 AM
kevinsand's Avatar
kevinsand
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In A Galaxy Far Far Away...
Posts: 116
Status: Offline
Default

╔╗╔═╦╗
║╚╣║║╚╗
╚═╩═╩═╝ anyone else notice that this is a year old post that has returned from the dead?
__________________
|Myspace|CarDomain|MyGamerTag|Club SLI|Digg|PhotoBucket|Halo 3 Service Record|iPodWizard.net|
"I'm not even supposed to be here. I'm just "Crewman Number Six." I'm expendable. I'm the guy in the episode who dies to prove how serious the situation is."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2007, 09:38 PM
wizmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 501
Status: Offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinsand View Post
╔╗╔═╦╗
║╚╣║║╚╗
╚═╩═╩═╝ anyone else notice that this is a year old post that has returned from the dead?
It's almost halloween so I expect more to rise from the depths of oblivion.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2009, 03:23 PM
jjb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Status: Offline
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpnet View Post
hey, I just got a VGA to S-video cable on Ebay for$1.49... don't waste your time trying to put it together yourself.
Hi
So you purcahsed one from ebay.
I am looking at them now and every one of them describes as having a 4-pin s-video FEMALE connector.
If it has pins then it is not a female.
What did you get and from what seller name?
Cheers
jjb
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:40 PM
haku's Avatar
haku
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 214
Status: Offline
Default

Those $1.49 VGA to s-video cables only work if your graphics card can output s-video through the VGA port.

Otherwise you have to buy a converter box to do the job.
__________________
Gadget hoarder & solder monkey.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:31 PM
jjb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Status: Offline
Default how can I tell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haku View Post
Those $1.49 VGA to s-video cables only work if your graphics card can output s-video through the VGA port.

Otherwise you have to buy a converter box to do the job.
Hi how can I tell if it outputs s-video? mybusiness_52@hotmail.com

Last edited by jjb : 10-07-2009 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2009, 05:52 AM
computoman
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not all vga outputs are the same. if your video card has svideo out, it will be much easier, Otherwise a certain about of electronics are required. the signals are very different depending how the signal is synced. Cheaper to get a second video card with svideo out.

Last edited by computoman : 10-08-2009 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Rev3 Forum RSS


© 2005-2010 Revision3 Corporation